Groups

Thinking of trying ebay - a total novice!

Absolutely no idea of ebay, never bought/sold,,,, have had a wee look over the years and have been totally confused and did not understand the process. But,, it is now 2017 and I must spend time to understand the process and "I do have loads to sell".... honestly, any advice would be really appreciated!

40 Comments

10% Ebay fees + 3.4% Paypal fees + fair chance of buyer getting a refund and sending stuff back used/incomplete/just a brick in a box = waste of time and effort

Gumtree all the way. Just remember that Gumtree is for cash/in person transactions only, not sending stuff by mail/Paypal.

As for buying stuff off Ebay, it is awesome. I use it all the time, also I have no idea why the sellers bother.
    Edited by: "SUMMONER" 28th Jan

A golden rule is to not get carried away in an auction.
    Look at an item and decide at what price does it it stop being a bargain then make your maximum bid at less than that price & stick to it.
    Do not forget to add to your bid price the postage cost (if any).

Original Poster

SUMMONER

10% Ebay fees + 3.4% Paypal fees + fair chance of buyer getting a refund … 10% Ebay fees + 3.4% Paypal fees + fair chance of buyer getting a refund and sending stuff back used/incomplete/just a brick in a box = waste of time and effortGumtree all the way. Just remember that Gumtree is for cash/in person transactions only, not sending stuff by mail/Paypal.As for buying stuff off Ebay, it is awesome. I use it all the time, also I have no idea why the sellers bother.

Have taken on board all you have said, absolutely agree, have used gumtree/Belfast loads of times and sold a few things but thought perhaps I might dip my toe into the ebay water to sell more random things like shoes/clothes...
    Thank you so much for your reply!!

Original Poster

landros1