Toilet fill valve help

Posted 16th Apr
Hello,

This morning one of my toilets was making a loud hissing after flushing. Removed top of cistern and hissing was caused by a weak spray of water coming from the location of the fill valve (I believe, I'm no expert so not sure if correct terminology). The toilet therefore took a long time to refill as it was only this light spray that was doing any filling, it did stop filling once the float thing underneath it moved up.

I did a quick google and basic solution was to disassemble and give the valve a clean. Which I did. Photo attached shows the valve seal, it has a hole in it, I assume this is the cause of the problem and the seal should not have a hole?

In the cleaning process I think I have made the hole worse, as reasembled the spray is now stronger and noisier, the toilet still takes a long time to fill and the float does not rise and stop the fill of the tank (even If I pull the little stem to its highest level the spray continues.

I've resorted to turning off the water to the toilet (the stop cock drips a little so I've had to stick a bucket under for now).

Any advice? If I just buy another valve seal should that in theory fix the problem?3442751-9kv5r.jpg
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

16 Comments
Yes you are correct,you will not be able to buy just the seal but can buy the full unit from screwfix / toolstation approx £10 (they are still selling these due to covid 19) easily replaced with the water turned off.
The water would normally fill from the bottom of the unit but this is not being achieved due to the hole in the seal.
You've got it. Look for a siamp diaphragm washer. Screwfix, eBay etc.
Also any idea how to get the stopcock leaking? It's plastic, turn to close, but then it leaks a stream of water, you then push it in and leaking stops except for a drip, can't see any way to tighten it further to prevent the final drip. The drip comes from the bottom of the turn handle itself