Unfortunately, this discussion is no longer valid
Expired

Track and trace app (covid 19)

Posted 3rd May
Hello,
I live on the Isle Of Wight where the new app is supposed to be imminently available to us here. I already guess by having a smartphone, google account, facebook other apps that my data is probably being used so have been not too worried about downloading this app. That's until I start reading other peoples opinions about this app and the majority of comments are people who are totally against it as a huge invasion of privacy and a new surveillance agenda.

Since I am a bit of a noob at software and these apps is it safe to download it when the time comes? Would you download it yourself? Although I am not sure how effective it will be generally in dealing with the pandemic is there any harm in having it on my phone? People seem tech savvy here so I thought I would ask. Thanks in advance for opinions and advice.
Community Updates
Misc

Groups

Top comments
Get it installed and do your bit for the NHS and society so we can get back to some normality, You can soon uninstall it at a later stage etc..
mucklebones03/05/2020 20:55

Interesting read thanks.

Ignore it.

Until it launches and we know exactly how it functions that article is just FUD.

And even in the event it is how it pans out - when you stop using it once we have a vaccine/it dies out, they don't have your location.

So they know where you were for a few of months in 2020. Big deal. They can already know where you are by asking the mobile networks for a record of your tower pings.

Unless you are a criminal there's no harm in the app even if it overly-shares and logs info.
14 Comments
You've already kissed goodbye to some privacy by stating that you live on IoW.
superspod03/05/2020 20:39

I wouldn't install it. …I wouldn't install it. https://tech.newstatesman.com/security/uk-infosec-experts-flag-concern-over-nhsx-contact-tracing-app

Interesting read thanks.
mucklebones03/05/2020 20:55