trying to get MAMES to play on this emulator *android HTC phone*

Found 8th Aug 2012
for ages now i had been using a emulator called TIGER arcade but not many mame roms seem to play.

have downloaded a new emulator called mame reloaded or something

doesnt seem to pick any roms up

is there a certain website i need to be downloading them from on my computer as a zip file ? also could it be they need putting in a certain file on my phone? im not very good at things like this

wonna play all the classics like simpsons arcade and the xmen one etc

if anyone has a Mame emulator running on there android phone any advise is appreciated
Community Updates
16 Comments
I use 'MAME4droid' seems to be pretty easy to setup. Just ensure that you follow the readme to put the roms in the correct location on your SD card.

I use zips but I am pretty sure it recognises most Mame Rom file types.
Edited by: "manc80" 8th Aug 2012
Original Poster
i think mame4droid is the one i downloaded is there a RELOADED version aswell ?

so is the key all about the roms getting put in the correct file on your phone ?

does it managed to play all the classic arcade games like the old turtles and samurai showdown etc ?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.seleuco.mame4all&hl=en

After installing, place your MAME-titled zipped roms in /sdcard/ROMs/MAME4all/roms folder.

MAME4droid uses only MAME4droid & iMAME4all uses only '0.37b5', 'GP2X, WIZ 0.37b11 mame romset'. Use "clrmame.dat" file included in /sdcard/ROMs/MAME4all/ to convert romsets from other MAME versions to the ones used by this version, using ClrMAME Pro utility, available in this URL:

mamedev.emulab.it/clr…ro/

Just to add, all the roms I have tried on this app have worked, but I mainly play a lot older roms. I know simpsons arcade works on mine. I havent had to do any of the converting as outlined above. Most Rom sets available seem to be 0.37b5.