Groups

tRYING TO REMOVE A TROJAN

i have a Trojan on my PC and Norton won't fix it i have been told its a multimedia trojan, i have followed the instructions to remove it but it says im not an administrator on my control panel it says i am a computer administrator is this different

14 Comments

search it on the symantec website and read the removal.

Original Poster

t0mm;4248335

search it on the symantec website and read the removal.

thank you rep added!

Original Poster

when it says network administrator is that ur internet provider?

Have you tried starting in safe mode (press F5 or F8 when the system's starting and select safe mode) and running your antivirus/tried removing the trojan?

Original Poster

ok i have now tried avery remoal tool going but nothing works can anyone offer me some advice pls?

Did you run them in safe mode? Reseting after each attempt?

BTW If I were you (and this is my opinion) I would get rid of Norton, its so hard on resources and is easily matched by the free avast!

Original Poster

cbryanp;4252098

Did you run them in safe mode? Reseting after each attempt?BTW If I were … Did you run them in safe mode? Reseting after each attempt?BTW If I were you (and this is my opinion) I would get rid of Norton, its so hard on resources and is easily matched by the free avast!

how does safe mode work? and resetting sorry im thick with these things

safe mode is basically a basic mode thats there for these situations (and for other things). To get into safe mode restart your computer and as its booting up i.e the screen lights up again continously tap F8 until you see a screen which will ask you if you want to run, you should see safe mode in that list somewhere. Select that, let it load, it will look odd, but just run your virus removal tool as normal, and then restart and select run windows normally hopfully that should work.