Turf Advice - Normal or Shaded

Posted 27th Sep
Hi there,

I am new to gardening so was wondering if anyone can help. I have this small 3.5x4m garden in the picture. I am planning to lay turf. Can you anyone advice should I go for normal turf or go for shaded turf. Due to the shadow being casted from the massive tree and my garage there is limited and sunlight.

I would really appreciate your help. Thank you.

3301093.jpg
3301093.jpg
3301093.jpg
3301093.jpg
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

5 Comments
Depends whether you have kids, dogs etc . Shady turf and seed tend to be finer , slower growing and not as hard wearing as standard seed/ turf . But it does look much better .

If you have dogs and/or kids I would get a hard wearing turf/seed - won't look quite as good but will grow faster and cover the inevitable bare patches quickly .
Is that a photo taken at dawn and the tree is on the south side of your garden?
Edited by: "EndlessWaves" 27th Sep
Do you really want to turf it? Just a bit of a pain having to get the mower out for such a small area. Not really sure from the photos but if that tree drops it leaves.....