Found 2nd Jan 2010
help please !
unsure if need new ariel , new tv for christmas , works downstairs ,but not up , downstairs tv does need signal booster , which is in use .
have tryed this with new tv , still no joy ! ariel been up for at least 17yrs ?? unsure how long thet last with out replacing , any help greatly appreciated !!

we do live semi rural , no mobile reception , in house ?? would this effect ,new digital tv , at a loss , please help !!
thanks

1. Ask
  2. TV
  3. Ariel
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. TV
  3. Ariel
13 Comments

I'm no expert but I think you may need a new digital high gain aerial, if you can do the job youself you should be able to getone from Argos, if not look on Yell or in the Yellow Pages for an aerial fitter.

Original Poster

pestiewesties

I'm no expert but I think you may need a new digital high gain aerial, if … I'm no expert but I think you may need a new digital high gain aerial, if you can do the job youself you should be able to getone from Argos, if not look on Yell or in the Yellow Pages for an aerial fitter.

thanks ! do you know how long ariels suppost to last with out replacing ?? again thanks !:|

aw08

thanks ! do you know how long ariels suppost to last with out replacing … thanks ! do you know how long ariels suppost to last with out replacing ?? again thanks !:|

There is no such thing as a digital ariel!!!!! I would advise you to get a new ariel though as yours does not sound very good.I suggest you have a look what your neighbours have and if they have good reception get the same.If you have good reception now on the analog signal you should have a good signal after the switch over.The companies advertising digital ariels are just trying to cash in.Ariels can last years as long as they don't get water in to the cable.If you want to do it yourself it is easy to do and if you live nr Barnsley i can point you to a very helpful shop ( who wont rip you off) where i got mine from 18 yrs ago and still working like a dream