Tv for Gaming

Found 23rd Dec 2017
I’ve recently bought a PS4 Pro for my son and now need to buy a TV so he can play but I have no knowledge of what type of TV to buy so would appreciate advice.

My budget is around £150-£175.
Community Updates
Ask
11 Comments
What screen size ? Running a pro you would benefit from 4k .....
Why buy a pro and then leave such a meagre budget for a TV. You will struggle to get a 32 inch 1080p for that let alone something 4k hdr which is what a pro really needs. Take the pro back, get a slim and use the extra towards a tele.
Original Poster
benrobertsno136 m ago

Why buy a pro and then leave such a meagre budget for a TV. You will …Why buy a pro and then leave such a meagre budget for a TV. You will struggle to get a 32 inch 1080p for that let alone something 4k hdr which is what a pro really needs. Take the pro back, get a slim and use the extra towards a tele.

I’ve never bought a TV before in my life so have zero knowledge but I’ll increase my TV budget if 4K HDR is best for the Pro. Thanks for your help. First time I bought a gaming console too!
LG B7
Edited by: "oliverkennedy10" 23rd Dec 2017
Original Poster
packard4 h, 29 m ago

What screen size ? Running a pro you would benefit from 4k .....

Was thinking of 32 inches.
Mfbham27 m ago

I’ve never bought a TV before in my life so have zero knowledge but I’ll in …I’ve never bought a TV before in my life so have zero knowledge but I’ll increase my TV budget if 4K HDR is best for the Pro. Thanks for your help. First time I bought a gaming console too!

It is kind of wasted on a 1080 p screen. A budget of ~ 400 would get something reasonable with 4k hdr, obviously not the best but noticeable upgrade over 1080.
Do keep in mind the PS4 pro can play down sampled games and a few pro enhanced titles do have better graphic detail levels (close to a pc high/ultra settings).

A pro is a slight waste on a 1080p TV, but it isn't mandatory to have a 4k TV either.