University struggle!

Posted 28th Feb
I’m studying a healthcare course (radiotherapy and oncology) at university and I’m at a financial crisis at the moment to the extent where I can’t even purchase books. Does anyone know any places I could go to for help for university equipment/books. And any way to get subsidised travel? Also I’m aware of some loans from student finance but I’m not a carer and I don’t have children so they don’t apply to me
Any information would be much much appreciated, thank you
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

25 Comments
Sorry this isn't meant to sound patronising, but could you take on a part time job ouside of your niversity hours?
Sounds like a career awaits if you can just get over the finish line. Keep at it and good luck.

May sound obvious but have you tried the Library for books? Even if they don't have them, a good librarian may know of sources.

Once you have the ISBN, you can try Amazon for second hand copies. And in that vein, is it worth emailing last years final year cohort and asking for help with their old stuff. It may be propping up coffee tables.

I have heard tales of trusts which offer interest free loans or even grants. The only one I know anything of is sirthomaswhite.org.uk/ The uni welfare office may have info, otherwise its back to Google. Often, these are local to your nearest major city from home.
Contact your universities student services/advice team, they usually have a hardship fund that can help.
university will have a department that will be able to advice students in financial crisis so you should go and see them. i used to buy books second hand when i was at uni from previous students and i used to go the library a lot and borrow the books to save buying them

as others have said, get a part time job. a lot of students do whilst studying.
118luke28/02/2020 11:08