Unsafe/Dangerous Pets at Home Frisbee

Found 1st Oct 2012
Pets at Home Frisbee

petsathome.com/sho…851

I have reported my concerns regarding this product to Pets at Home customer services who choose to ignore my emails and concerns so I thought I would mention it here among other places in order to create awareness of both the unsuitability of the product and Pets at Homes attitude to pet care.

I am a professional dog walker, carer and boarder.

I bought one of these frisbees from a POS display recently. I threw the Frisbee for a clients dog (springer spaniel). The dog had the frisbee for just a few of seconds, taking only one or two bites, when trying to pick it up. The Frisbee is made of brittle plastic which breaks into pointed shards and sharp edges. Sharp enough to slice into my finger when picking one up.

I reported this to Pet at Home when the dog was taken to the vet with internal bleeding. I phoned customer services and spoke to a lady named Farrah. I followed up the call, as requested, with an email including pictures of the damaged frisbee with clearly sharp, serated edges where it had broken. I have been into the store to show the frisbee to the duty manager and followed up my email via the pets at home site.

I even attempted to post a review of the frisbee which has not been published.

I feel there is no excuse for their lack of response other than wilful negligence.

I have chosen to create some awareness of my experience. I would like to know of others who have had similar experiences with Pets at Home.
Community Updates
17 Comments
Surely its obvious what is going to happen when a dog bites into a cheap £1 plastic frisbee?
greenmachine12

Surely its obvious what is going to happen when a dog bites into a cheap … Surely its obvious what is going to happen when a dog bites into a cheap £1 plastic frisbee?

Yes, that's right! A dog should learn to carry it with it's paws!

Unbelieveable!