Expired

Using 5.1 Speakers With a 7.2 AV Reciever?

Found 3rd Sep 2014
Hi, A Question For Audio-Buffs? I am quite new to purchasing AV Separates as the past and opted for an All-In-One Cinema Solution, however I am thinking of purchasing the 7.2 Yamaha RX-V675 and have already purchased some JBL Home Cinema 5.1 Speakers... My Question Is.... will using a 5.1 Setup affect the Sound Quality in anyway? or would I be better purchasing a dedicated 5.1 AV Receiver? I shall NEVER use a 7.2 setup... but due to some great deals on 7.2 Amps... its seems a better deal... Any Help would be appreciated thanks
Community Updates
AskSpeakerAV Receiver
17 Comments
Don't let the maximum speakers put you off an AV. 7.2 just means it can handle that amount, it doesn't affect 5.1 performance.
And in the future if you decide to add another subwoofer or 2 more speakers, you're able to
What they^ said.

I have Denon unit, it has multiple setups, the manual is 200+ pages! If only it made my dinner too! Enjoy the unit, hope it enhances your enjoyment of whatever you view/listen to.

I shall NEVER use a 7.2 setup

That's what I said... Now looking to replace my 5.1 amp with either a 7.2 or 9.2 one!! Upgraded the speakers in readiness so just need to but the extra ones when ready :-)

But as the peeps said above you'll be fine.
The RX-V675 will automatically remap 7.1 input to 5.1 output. While this isn't as good as having discreet rear surrounds it's not bad. Just remember to set your surrounds as side surround and not rear surrounds.
Most of this is done through menu systems now so it will be a lot easier. Remember to set your speakers to small, this passes more bass to the subwoofer and should give you deeper and better bass as most speakers suck badly <60Hz bass.