Groups

Using an Epson printer with compatible cartridges?

Just wanted to make people aware that if their Mac or PC says there's a printer update available for their Epson, and they're using compatible cartridges, then DONT INSTALL IT.

I've had an Epson D92 printer and I've been using compatible cartridges for the past 2 years and it's worked fine. On Friday my Mac told me that it wanted to install a printer update and I let it do it. Since then my compatible cartridges don't work and the printer keeps asking me to replace them.

Windows users may be offered a similar update via Windows Update. As far as I can tell this is due to the printer update, and there's no going back as it updates the printer itself.

I've emailed Consumable City who I get my compatible cartridges from to see if they know anything about this, and will post an update here when I find out more.

It could well be caused by something else, but I'd advise you not to take the risk until there's more info about it.

18 Comments

same problem, altho it tells me that i am using noncompatible cartriges and do i want to continue, I click yes and it lets me do it.

Original Poster

Sheep87;5107638

same problem, altho it tells me that i am using noncompatible cartriges … same problem, altho it tells me that i am using noncompatible cartriges and do i want to continue, I click yes and it lets me do it.

I get that message too, but as soon as I click continue it asks me to replace the cartridges again and won't print

MrBrightside1987;5107663

I get that message too, but as soon as I click continue it asks me to … I get that message too, but as soon as I click continue it asks me to replace the cartridges again and won't print

ah i dont get that. you could do a system restore to before you installed the update

Original Poster

Sheep87;5107671

ah i dont get that. you could do a system restore to before you … ah i dont get that. you could do a system restore to before you installed the update