Found 30th Mar 2011
I'm a little annoyed at a situation and looking for others opinions on the matter.
My girlfriend has been invited to a wedding in the summer by a couple who she works with. The invite is only extended to her, and no partner or +1 is invited. I understand that numbers might be limited, but not even allowed to attend the evening function. I think its out of order to not allow someones partner to attend.

.
..

  1. Misc
Groups
  1. Misc
85 Comments

Its a friend of work, think yourself lucky and enjoy the night off and stop being a girl about it!
Edited by: "GAVINLEWISHUKD" 30th Mar 2011

I understand that numbers might be limited, but not even allowed to … I understand that numbers might be limited, but not even allowed to attend the evening function. I think its out of order to not allow someones partner to attend.



you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.

What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief

Banned

youve come to the right place

maybe the couple don't like you much?

I would so hate to be with a man who whinged about stuff like this you know. I have a group of friends - my husband has a group of friends...................and we also have mutual friends.

No way would I moan and whinge about him being invited to a function and I am not included.

OP have you always been insecure

There's a recession.

People are having to make savings.

Be glad for your girl friend.

Try not to be so possessive, it doesn't show you in a good light.

Banned

Look closely at the in-vite, +1 has probably been tipp-ex'd out

So she's been invited to her work mates wedding.. don't see what your problem is unless your the jealous type oO
Dont give her a hard time about it .... you should be happy she's out enjoying herself with mates.
Edited by: "bigflump" 30th Mar 2011

Original Poster

you say "you understand" re numbers being … you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief



Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like I only met my GF last week, together for 10 years. I think its rude to not allow peoples partners.

swancut

Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like … Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like I only met my GF last week, together for 10 years. I think its rude to not allow peoples partners.




Its not rude - they obviously dont know u as well as your partner and have a budget to adhere to!! They also must know your oh will know others that are going to the wedding so wont be sitting all lonely in the corner!!

Dont spoil this for your partner - cause I reckon you are in a mad huff about this and stamping your feet.

Maybe they only have a small venue booked for the evening and can't afford somewhere big enough to invite everyone partners.

I'm in a similar situation, except, I don't care.

Do you know the couple? Its often very expensive to add extra guests to a wedding, even if only the evening do they may cost £25-£30 each; that quickly adds up to an awful lot if you are inviting the unknown partners of people you only casually know...

I sense a male work colleague will also be going and there's more to this story than just being pee'd off there's no +1.

bossyboots

Its not rude - they obviously dont know u as well as your partner and … Its not rude - they obviously dont know u as well as your partner and have a budget to adhere to!! They also must know your oh will know others that are going to the wedding so wont be sitting all lonely in the corner!!Dont spoil this for your partner - cause I reckon you are in a mad huff about this and stamping your feet.


gosh

ants97

I sense a male work colleague will also be going and there's more to this … I sense a male work colleague will also be going and there's more to this story than just being pee'd off there's no +1.



Lol if he wasn't thinking about this he is now!

http://images.icanhascheezburger.com/completestore/2009/1/15/128765297762419915.jpg

http://www.lapsura.com/drawings/archives/images/youre-not-invited.jpg
http://www.picklejuice13.com/comics-archive/2010-10-08-Youre-Not-Invited.jpg

Original Poster

Then I'm in a minority by the looks of it. Honestly I hate weddings, and I'm more than happy to let her go on her own, good excuse too catch up with mates. No huffiness or jealous, but i wouldn't dream of sending an invite to a friend and saying they cant bring their partners, husbands or wives. i guess my rude'o'meter is just set a little higher than most.

swancut

Then I'm in a minority by the looks of it. Honestly I hate weddings, and … Then I'm in a minority by the looks of it. Honestly I hate weddings, and I'm more than happy to let her go on her own, good excuse too catch up with mates. No huffiness or jealous, but i wouldn't dream of sending an invite to a friend and saying they cant bring their partners, husbands or wives. i guess my rude'o'meter is just set a little higher than most.



Good decision.

You stopped yourself just in time ...

... before you lost the Sut from your username.

In your opinion its being rude..............but I dont think it is. Weddings are sooooooo expensive nowadays and when you sit down and write out your guest list - its shockingly long!!! Its their day and obviously would rather your partner was there. Not having you there has no doubt allowed them to invite another friend (without their partner too am sure!!)
Edited by: "bossyboots" 30th Mar 2011

http://www.technollama.co.uk/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/these_are_not_the_droids.jpg

these are not the answers you're looking for

Original Poster

arcangel111 - Mar 30, 2011 … arcangel111 - Mar 30, 2011 01:22http://www.technollama.co.uk/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/these_are_not_the_droids.jpgthese are not the answers you're looking for



lol very funny.
Actually no, not the answer looking for,lol people who ive spoken to in person were very much agreed with me on this, even my mate who got wed last year who had never met my gf, invited her to his wedding. I get a cost thing but £20/30 per person, for an £70/100 gift...
never looked into weddings but surly the night doo is only the cost of venue, not the number of people invited. unless you have a free bar
If you want to look a little deeper tho, he spoke to my gf about not really wanting to marry his fiancee, and didnt know how to tell her.

swancut

If you want to look a little deeper tho, he spoke to my gf about not … If you want to look a little deeper tho, he spoke to my gf about not really wanting to marry his fiancee, and didnt know how to tell her.




That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.

Original Poster

I would so hate to be with a man who whinged about stuff like this you … I would so hate to be with a man who whinged about stuff like this you know. I have a group of friends - my husband has a group of friends...................and we also have mutual friends.No way would I moan and whinge about him being invited to a function and I am not included.OP have you always been insecure



For me there is a big difference between a works doo, an xmas party, a business meeting etc.
and what does this insecurity mean. these are your opinions and thoughts, not mine!

Banned

sounds like a lucky escape to me......personally i would have been planning my excuses if i had of been invited

Original Poster

That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the … That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.



if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you

Banned

swancut

if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you



how?

swancut

if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you



No its not.


Oh how I love a good thread backfire!

Have you kids not got school tomorrow?

Nah I bunked off coz I GOT invited to a wedding.
Edited by: "jiminym" 30th Mar 2011

If I were the OP, I would crash it, full of mushies!

swancut

if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you



no its not! u dont start interfering in other peoples lives just because u know something. n look up the word confide, she told u a secret and u start tell tale-ing on a forum!
well done, very trustworthy

Edited by: "tatemze" 30th Mar 2011

Women - If we confide in you we know full well most of your mates are going to know within an hour and thats fine by us. Shoe, foot, other = trouble.

This guy is just trying to get some opinions (okay he might not be going about it in the best way) but at least he's trying to judge opinion to know whether to say "Ah **** it, off you go" or "No I think it's bang out of order and so do 750 people on the forum I posted it on"

Give him a break!

Original Poster

if my GF confides in me and asks me if she should say anything to the girl involved (her friend), then it becomes my business, as she is asking for my opinion and my advise. like if i was asked about my opinion on bulling, race or any other subject, if asked I would give it. TATEMZE im not telling "secrets" to the world, its a small forum and my name isnt really swancut and its not going to be shown on the bbc or dispatches, GAWD. opinions are like A holes, everyones got one and most of them stink, obviously like mine. but if I was so jealous and huffy, then i would have said TELL HER!! to ruin the wedding. but i said, in my opinion that he is just having some pre wedding jitters. any way Ive already said in this thread that im outnumbered on this subject.but bossyboots your going out of your way to make a lot of assumptions, say im jealous, sour and feeling left out, not the case, (I) just think, not to invite someones partner/husband/wife is a little out of order, its just my opinion and the way ive been brought up. Like some peoples opinions are to hate other religions, size, shape or colour etc. you are just presuming im some kind of control freak!! angry and **** off. Im not. just a little annoyed as its something I just wouldn't do. if you would then again thats your way.

Edited by: "swancut" 30th Mar 2011

swancut

if my GF confides in me and asks me if she should say anything to the … if my GF confides in me and asks me if she should say anything to the girl involved (her friend), then it becomes my business, as she is asking for my opinion and my advise. like if i was asked about my opinion on bulling, race or any other subject, if asked I would give it. TATEMZE im not telling "secrets" to the world, its a small forum and my name isnt really swancut and its not going to be shown on the bbc or dispatches, GAWD. opinions are like A holes, everyones got one and most of them stink, obviously like mine. but if I was so jealous and huffy, then i would have said TELL HER!! to ruin the wedding. but i said, in my opinion that he is just having some pre wedding jitters. any way Ive already said in this thread that im outnumbered on this subject.but bossyboots your going out of your way to make a lot of assumptions, say im jealous, sour and feeling left out, not the case, (I) just think, not to invite someones partner/husband/wife is a little out of order, its just my opinion and the way ive been brought up. Like some peoples opinions are to hate other religions, size, shape or colour etc. you are just presuming im some kind of control freak!! angry and **** off. Im not. just a little annoyed as its something I just wouldn't do. if you would then again thats your way.



Breathe, in and out, deep breath!

Banned

Had a wedding december 2009, having extra guests to our evening didn't add any cost and 80% of the buffet food was wasted even though we only catered for 25% of the guests there. Was £150 per head during the day. Sounds like they don't like you or got a tiny venue.

maybe they forgot

i understand where your coming from, if it was a close friend of my partners who we had known for ages and they didnt invite me i would be slightly peed. if it was my wedding i dont think i could just invite my friends without their partners, i dont know my best friends partner at all really but they are a family so i would invite them all.
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text
    Top Discussions
    1. Will iPad 2 iOS update slows it down?44
    2. Jd sports11
    3. Urgent help needed with travel agent33
    4. Paw patrol sea patroller11

    See more discussions