Groups

Water spilled on laptop?

4 days ago my laptop took a full glass of water...everything works fine except the keyboard where only about 3 keys work! Is their anything i can do to fix it? By now the water will of left the laptop?

9 Comments

Do you not have accidental damage cover on your home insurance?

Original Poster

livingthelife07;8962336

Do you not have accidental damage cover on your home insurance?

I don't have any insurance, im a student in rented accom.

Original Poster

dcx_badass;8962357

Whole laptop will fail at some point in the next few months possibly … Whole laptop will fail at some point in the next few months possibly anyway if you didn't turn it off straight away and leave it in an airing cupboard or similar for 24 hours.How is that an excuse?

I did turn it off and leave it for 24 hours. So the problem is now that the majority of keys on the keyboard don't work, any fix? Oh it's just i wouldn't see the point as the excess would probs be the price of the laptop? lol

dcx_badass;8962357

Whole laptop will fail at some point in the next few months possibly … Whole laptop will fail at some point in the next few months possibly anyway if you didn't turn it off straight away and leave it in an airing cupboard or similar for 24 hours.How is that an excuse?

He wasnt looking for a lecture on insurance !!, just some advice on laptop getting wet :roll:

there's probably still water under the keys, you'll need to dry it out for longer.
    You've probably got compartments on the underside or sides where the battery, hard drive and memory sits, if you remove just the covers, that should assist the drying process. Also leave the laptop screen 'up' to allow more air flow.

Banned

Should have immediately disconnected power and battery, taken apart as much as possible then leave to dry in a warm place if possible for a week.