What do you think of Kindles?

Posted 12th Jun 2020
Do you use one or have you used one? Is it worth getting one? it is as good as reading an actual book?
Community Updates
Ask
21 Comments
I have been using a Paperwhite for the last 3 years. Does it give the same pleasure as reading a paper book? No; but I think you will find the answer a bit different from the younger generation who have grown up with screens. But I used to travel a lot for work and carrying it was far more convenient than carrying a heavy book. I still get books from my local library (hopefully, they reopen next week) but I read these at home while the Kindle is stocked up with all the free stuff
Worth - Yes, one time investment and you Can carry 100s of books. Saves on space and visits to library.

We have paperwhite but my wife still prefers her books over reading on screen.
My Daughter loves books over reading on screen too, mums influence. They both are library regulars.
Don’t ask me how much I have spent on books since this covid 19 lockdown.

In my case I travel for work so find it easier option.
Edited by: "RealOldMonk" 12th Jun
I love mine.
As others say 100’s of books in a small light device and the battery lasts months.

I also find them really easy to read with. That may sound like a stupid comment, but I’ve tried reading on an iPad and I really struggled and it made my eyes ache quickly - not the case with a kindle as they have completely different screens.

Why not have a look for a cheap on on FB marketplace and see how you get on with it?

There are also free books posted on here regularly which is a good way to try out different authors and genres.
Edited by: "paul1005" 12th Jun
Kindles are a nasty walled garden setup where they won't read eBooks from most shops and many library services, only DRM free and Amazon ones.

eReaders in general are good though, I haven't book a paper book in years.
Edited by: "EndlessWaves" 12th Jun
I like ereaders in general, kindles less so.