Whats a good beginners SLR?

Would ideally prefer to spend the lower part of my budget.

Also which software is good to use to edit pics? im using a mac if it helps.

23 Comments

Canon 1000d...check my old threads i created a similar recently....bought from canon outlet on eBay....also use iPhoto or aperture

Original Poster

Ok thanks , just looking at the differences between a 400d and 1000d.

Banned

boothy

Canon 1000d...check my old threads i created a similar recently....bought … Canon 1000d...check my old threads i created a similar recently....bought from canon outlet on eBay....also use iPhoto or aperture

Do you have the link for this Canon outlet? I'm in the market for a 550d soon

I also have a canon 1000d and love it

I'm only a beginner but it's perfect for me

DJ1

Do you have the link for this Canon outlet? I'm in the market for a 550d … Do you have the link for this Canon outlet? I'm in the market for a 550d soon

They don't have many 550d's for sale. I got mine for £580 after quidco though from Comet which was a bit of a bargain.

I am considering the 500d by Canon or the Nikon D5000???

Any recommendations???
Edited by: "bargainhunter2009" 20th Nov 2010

Banned

mr.potato_head

They don't have many 550d's for sale. I got mine for £580 after quidco … They don't have many 550d's for sale. I got mine for £580 after quidco though from Comet which was a bit of a bargain.

Snap..... Though on top of the discount and voucher, I also blagged a 10% discount from work to bring it down to £540 (or £520 if TCB pays out).... Such a lovely piece of kit.

If you're not too fussed about it being new I recommend a second hand 30d, can be had on ebay quite cheaply, then invest in a good lens.

Original Poster

Ok so im stuck between a canon 30d,400d or 1000d

Original Poster

dcx_badass

1000D.

Yeh i think i may just be this as quite a few other people have it too. So if i need any help they can help me out.

Original Poster

£284 on ebay is that about right?