Expired

Which Adhesive for Car Body Trim Above Back Door ?

Found 25th Jan 2014
The body trim (which runs all the way from back to front on a car ) above the car door ( back door ) has fallen off, i have tried super glue but it wont stay. Can anyone please suggest what adhesive will work ? So i can put it back above door on the car body.
Community Updates
AskCarDoor
12 Comments
I'm no expert at glueing things back on but epoxy resin is a safe bet when you need something to stay put. 2-part adhesive, available from most DIY/Hardware stores and I've also seen it in Poundland. If your car is something you really care about though, I'd phone my local dealership for your car model and pop the question to them. Most would be willing to suggest an answer.

Regards, Phsy.
GO to a proper car motor factors and ask them for the right glue
Dont try and use epoxy resin on the car it will ruin the paint
karenhornby

GO to a proper car motor factors and ask them for the right glueDont try … GO to a proper car motor factors and ask them for the right glueDont try and use epoxy resin on the car it will ruin the paint

Not sure why it would do that - Epoxy resin isn't a cyanoacrylate based glue. Just use it sparingly and not slop it all over the place. Oh well, it was just a suggestion. I've used it in the past to glue on decals etc. and it's fine.

I do also agree with karenhornby's suggestion of Motor Factor supplier. You just have to hope they are knowledgeable and not just 'guessing' to poke some obscure, expensive adhesive into you. That's why I'd rather ask an actual dealership. That way, you can fire some blame back at them if something is amiss upon using their recommendation.

How about "No More Nails" ???