Which car do people recommend for around £1500?

Found 5th Jul 2012
Baring in mind it must be a low insurance group one. At the moment I'm looking at getting a vw golf 1.6.

1. Misc
  2. Car
Groups
  1. Misc
  2. Car
37 Comments

Banned

Even a 1.6 will be high insurance for a young age driver. I would like for something else other than a golf if i were you OP.

you need a 1.2 or 1.4 for cheap car insurance (im a young driver myself) a good starter car would be something like a clio or a punto. I currently have a ford focus 1.4 and thats really cheap to insure

We had a 51 plate clio that we sold for less than that. Low insurance group (about 4-5), £30 a year to tax, plus it was diesel, so plenty of MPG out of it. A nippy, decent car for the money.

Adam1990

you need a 1.2 or 1.4 for cheap car insurance (im a young driver myself) … you need a 1.2 or 1.4 for cheap car insurance (im a young driver myself) a good starter car would be something like a clio or a punto. I currently have a ford focus 1.4 and thats really cheap to insure

Yes if you want to spend most of your time pushing it

Original Poster

I've checked insurance quotes and there's only a £300 difference between a corsa and golf 1.6 insurance price wise with insure the box.

Kia Picanto

http://world-viewer.com/data_images/reliant-robin/reliant-robin-08.jpg

Only £300 difference in insurance but then there is dearer road tax , a lot more fuel for a car that is slower than a 1.2 Clio . Take the advice and go for something smaller ( you will also get something newer) . And that's coming from someone who worked with vw for 10 years and who's first car was a 1.6 golf .

What about a 1.2 vw polo about a 52/03 plate will come in at your budget .

Get an Alfa 147 for less than 1k, then put the difference towards your insurance. Just as good as a golf.

Banned

ford focus/fiesta

vw polo