Posted 12th Oct 2021
My Dell 7373 decided to die yesterday and I've been frantically trying to find a replacement.
I usually have about 40 tabs open at the same time so ideally want something that will be capable.

I have ordered the huawei matebook13 amd.
I have no experience with huawei and watching YouTube videos so many people are sponsored or biased in some way.
I was attracted to the light weight but the battery life doesn't sound too good. Also started having second thoughts and moving to the intel branch as apparently battery life is better.
I also didn't like the fact i would need to buy an adapter for my usb connections (hard drives etc)

But now I have just ordered a DELL Inspiron 14 5415 14" Laptop - AMD Ryzen 7, 512 GB SSD. open unused from curry outlet for 500 (with the 75 discount code used).

But my experience with Dell isn't great so far. But i can't see Huawei being much better.

any opinions please? which one should I return? should I buy another one?

I forgot to mention my old laptop was a 2 in 1. Which I occasionally used the touch. it was a nice added feature which both these laptops don't have.

I did find this one Huawei MateBook X Pro Laptop i5-10210U 16GB RAM 512GB SSD 13.9" 3k IPS Touch W10
But it is for 680 which is 180 more than the previous 2. But i can't justify spending 180 more just for touch. unless the other features make up for the price.

My budget is around the 500 mark

I'm so confused so many specs to look out for.
Community Updates
Ask
New Comment
13 Comments
  1. Avatar
    Just wondering whether there could still be life in the old dog. When you say died, can you elaborate on this? Might be an easyish fix?
    With that model some versions of Linux Ubuntu struggles after laptop is suspended which may be a graphics or CPU issue which could also be present in Windows. Done any recent updates?