Which portable case for SSD?

Found 29th Mar
Hi guys.

Sorry if it is a dumb question but I'm quite new to SSD discs and now thinking about one. Basically I am worried about all the data that I have on my WD elements SE hdd as I already lost half of data in the past in my laptop after it dropped from just 20cm. I was thinking about buying external SSD but heard that I can buy internal SSD and just buy a case for it. My question is if all ssd cases will fit any ssd disc? I am intending to buy either Sandisk plus ssd or samsung evo ssd.
Community Updates
Ask
10 Comments
I have done this with an old SSD when I increased the size. Beware of heat build up in an external SSD case. The larger the capacity, the hotter it gets. Make sue it is well ventilated and don't leave it plugged in.
I want to buy 250gb and connect it occasionally to see photos or watch a movie via tv.
But the question remains if I can use any case for any 2.5 ssd?
Why do you need a external SSD for? What's wrong with just a normal external i.e USB 3.0 2TB HDD to serve your purpose.
SSD are more durable and in case of a drop chances to lose the data are smaller - that's what I heard
My 2017 LG 4K smart TV will read an enclosed HDD (means it will also read a SSD). I don't know about your TV because I've no idea what you have.
Edited by: "RiverDragon8" 30th Mar
Sorry you got me wrong

The reason why I want to exchange my external hdd to an external ssd is security only. I already lost half of my data once as my laptop dropped from small height. Since then I don't trust hdd's. That's why I want to change to something which will keep my data safer and I heard that ssd's are way better option as they don't have any parts that are moving inside.
ciechanm1 h, 5 m ago