Why am I getting shoulder pain when learning to drive?

Found 1st Apr
I've been learning with an instructor for a few months in a BMW 1 series with no problems; this week I've gotten insurance on my dads Ford Fiesta and after 1 hour driving I'm experiencing pain in my shoulder/upper arm when shifting into 2nd. Has anyone else experienced this?
Community Updates
Ask
14 Comments
Try adjusting the seat / headrest see if that helps. Do you only get that pain whilst driving?
Are the tyres deflated and hence steering is heavy
Could you be more nervous/tense while driving the fiesta?.
I'm afraid some cars are just uncomfortable for some people, no matter what you do with the seats, although that is certainly worth a try, as is a cushion under you. I had a great car a few years back which always gave me a pain in the hip. It had to go in the end.
The first thing I would try is adjusting the seat height/back until you find a position that's more comfortable. Does the steering column have any adjustment on it? maybe you are over reaching.
niceroundpound58 m ago

Try adjusting the seat / headrest see if that helps. Do you only get that …Try adjusting the seat / headrest see if that helps. Do you only get that pain whilst driving?

Yeah, only when I'm going into gear 2, the angle of almost reaching behind your back is causing me discomfort. I've adjusted the seat/wheel in numerous positions to no success, It's probably a combination of me being weak and a stiff gear box (seems to be a common issue with fiestas).
Have you adjusted the height of the seat as well, assuming that adjusts separately? Putting it down to the lowest may help.
Edited by: "EndlessWaves" 1st Apr
It’s an underlying cry for help. You hate the fact that you’ve dropped from learning in a Beemer to a Feasty.
Once the practicalities settle you’ll be right as rain.

Actually I know what the problem is. The Ford has an indicator stalk. The extra work is unbalancing your shoulders.
Laveer3 h, 34 m ago