Why does Apple only allow so many computer de-authorisations?

10
Found 2nd Feb 2011
Does anyone know why Apple has this stupid rule?

The item you buy has to be authorised in the computer, then if you sell the comp you always have to remember to de-authorise it

What happens when people forget and use up their allowance? It's never happened to me yet, although I was wondering if anyone had been in this situation and what was their solution?
Did you have to contact Apple?
Once all used up, were you not allowed to connect any more comps?
Community Updates
10 Comments
Banned
Once per year you can deauthorise the lot.

It''s in your profile section.
Banned
Actually goto Store --> Account (top right) --> Deauthorise All.

If you need to do this more than once per year, you can ring them I believe.
Original Poster
So your saying, even though I have say 2 left I can deauthorise the whole lot
and my limit will go back up to 5 allowed
even though I don't have those computers to hand anymore?
Edited by: "saxo_appeal" 2nd Feb 2011
Banned
saxo_appeal

So your saying, even though I have say 2 left I can deauthorise the whole … So your saying, even though I have say 2 left I can deauthorise the whole loteven though I don't have those computers to hand anymore?



That is what I'm saying. Then just re-authorise the 1/2/3/4/5 you want.
Yeah, that's what VB1 is saying.

I don't know how you have lived to 50 Saxo X)
Original Poster
Cool

Nice one mate, I'll give it a go today and see what happens

Just before I authorise my new Ferrari
Original Poster
Baz I hate you!
Original Poster
is this within the iTunes webpage or actually in my itunes?

I have went into both but cannot seem to find it
Original Poster
Ahhh that's why I cant find it


'If you find you have reached 5 authorizations, you can reset your authorization count by clicking Deauthorize All in the Account Information screen.'

you need to be at the 5 limit
dcx_badass

Yeah I only have one remaining so will have to do it soon (mostly from … Yeah I only have one remaining so will have to do it soon (mostly from clean installing windows).


Same here, always mean to deauthorise before I format hard drive but forget everytime.

Wasn't aware it was once per year, thanks VB1
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text

    Top Discussions

    Top Merchants