Wifi question

Found 8th Aug
Hi guys, quick internet related query.

Running the Vodafone fibre broadband (76MB). When I've setup the Wireless - the speed often is around 40MB - rarely goes up over 50MB, whereas with the Ethernet is nearly full 76MB. If I get a better router to plug into the Vodafone's wifi modern, would I have a closer parity between the Ethernet and the wireless? Generally would a £30-£40 unit be okay?
Community Updates
Ask
11 Comments
My experience is there's always a drop off from ethernet to WiFi speeds, this will also depend on location, interference, walls, metal beams, traffic etc etc. I'm with sky and I get almost identical to you fibre and WiFi speeds. I've got WiFi distributers around our house and they're Devolo Powerlines, they generally are around 30-40 mg WiFi. So in short, I'm not an expert, but I don't think you'll get improved results.
What you say "setup" do you mean your sync speed on the homepage interface?
Yes and no to this question. Yes you can buy better equipment that can deliver WiFi at a faster speed. There are quite a few variables to the speed of WiFi distance walls etc that may make more of a difference than the WiFi at the price range. Powerline adapters with access points built in, wired access points even looking at the WiFi channel to see if there are any conflicts fairly close. There is also the max speeds of the devices you are connecting to think about too

i don’t think you will get much more for the price you state for a new router
You can go faster but it depends on the standard your router and devices support, I would imagine at the moment the limiting factor is your devices rather than your router, also how versatile your devices and router are in how much control they give you over your wifi settings.

You should also try and find a band that's not congested, I personally use "Wifi Analyzer" on android to do this.

play.google.com/sto…zer