EXPIRED

WIN YA BUNDLE FROM BLOOMSBURY @ world book day

PRODUCT: YA BUNDLE FROM BLOOMSBURY
PERIOD: Once
WIN YA BUNDLE FROM BLOOMSBURY.

WIN a May YA bundle with copies of Countless by Karen Gregory and The Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein!

Countless by Karen Gregory
‘Is there anything that’s concerning you?’ Felicity says. ‘College, home, boyfriends?’ Though she’s more or less smiling at this last one.

I don’t smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.

When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she’s just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I’ve never heard her use before she says, ‘Have you done a pregnancy test?’

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

Karen Gregory has been a confirmed bookhead since early childhood. She wrote her first story about Bantra the mouse aged twelve, then put away the word processor until her first child was born, when she was overtaken by the urge to write. A graduate of Somerville College, Oxford, and a project coordinator by day, she’s become adept at writing around the edges. Strong coffee and a healthy disregard for housework help. Karen lives in Wiltshire with her family. Countless is her first novel.

The Pearl ThiefThe Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein
June, 1938. Julie Beaufort-Stuart returns for one last summer holiday at Strathfearn, her grandfather’s highland estate. Soon the big old house will be sold, and Julie’s childhood will vanish with it. But there are dangerous currents beneath the surface at Strathfearn that are not ready to let her go.

A man is missing, presumed murdered, and many locals are blaming the McEwans, a Traveller family who have made camp at Strathfearn as long as Julie can remember. She is determined to prove them innocent. But before she can get to the bottom of the mystery Julie finds herself caught tight in a net woven of old grudges, intriguing strangers, buried secrets and rare, glimmering river pearls.

Elizabeth Wein was born in New York, and grew up in England, Jamaica and Pennsylvania. She is married with two children and lives in Perth, Scotland. Elizabeth is a member of the Ninety-Nines, the International Organization of Women Pilots. She was awarded the Scottish Aero Club’s Watson Cup for best student pilot in 2003 and it was her love of flying that partly inspired the idea for her internationally acclaimed novel Code Name Verity.

To celebrate our May UKYA releases we are giving away three sets of these books. To enter just email your name and address to childrenspublicity@bloomsbury.com, with the subject line: WBD UKYA by 31 May 2017. Winners will be selected at random after the closing date.
Enter competition: worldbookday.com/com…ry/

2 Comments

x

Thank You
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text
    Top Discussions
    1. Win £50,000 with ITV7 (Closes 1:55pm Thursday 24/08)33
    2. Win 5 x main prizes of £200 gift cards bundles at Argos2021
    3. WIN A FOUR-NIGHT CRUISE AND STAY BREAK TO SANTANDER, SPAIN @ Manor Magazine1010
    4. Win £1,000 gift card at Norwich Airport @ Intu Chapelfield77

    See more discussions