Groups
    EXPIRED

Windows 7 - Student price

Hello folks, me again.

Another query. I remember seeing numerous posts about where Windows 7 could be purchased from on the cheap for students. Can anyone point me in the direction of some of the places that do it?

Looking to pick up 2 copies of Win 7 Pro/Ultimate 32bit to do clean installs.

I am actually a student, so it's all good. Rep left accordingly

I already have Win 7 installed but I got that for free from the uni's MSDNAA, I want the other copies for our other computer and for the missus.

7 Comments

Original Poster

I'm aware of this one:

hotukdeals.com/ite…bit

But not entirely sure if it is for clean installs or upgrades only.

*edit* Looks like it might be ok for clean install, but still want to see if there's anywhere else I can get it from

Heres another one...
    microsoft.com/uk/…er/

ROFL! Need to pay an extra £9 to actually have the disk? You're having a laugh M$...

Still looking though

£30 here: ]http//ww…er/

It says upgrade edition, but theres probably a way around it.

There are ways around the upgrade edition, search google, i remember seeing it on something like mydigitallife.com ?
    Otherwise student editions will jsut be £30

Software4Students : ]http//ww…spx

I've seen these hacks allowing clean installs of upgrade version. But I'm not convinced this method is futureproof. Has anyone seen full version available at a student price.

Original Poster

mudddy;6750506

I've seen these hacks allowing clean installs of upgrade version. But I'm … I've seen these hacks allowing clean installs of upgrade version. But I'm not convinced this method is futureproof. Has anyone seen full version available at a student price.

This is what I'm after... This whole "upgrade" idea is complete and total BS in my opinion. I want to pay for the licence to use Windows 7 - Not have to have paid for a licence for a previous version and then pay more to upgrade that.