Whisky drinkers

Posted 3rd Mar 2023
Evening all,

The Mrs bought me Dalwhinnie Winter's Gold for Xmas it's my first time getting into Whisky.

I'm looking for other recommendations to keep the beginners flow going. And any tips etc.

Thanks
Community Updates
New Comment

32 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    A never ending question that lol. There are some great whiskies out there worth a try for not a lot more than what you tried. Thing is you probably need to figure out your taste buds as to what type of whisky you are likely to prefer. I couldn't speak about blended malts as I only ever drink single malt. Some regions produce whisky that are heavily peated and smokey in flavour and undertones, others with more fruity and sweeter undertones. You tend to prefer one or the other.

I would buy 2 - a Glemorangie 10year old and a Laphroaig 10. I think they are both excellent malts for their money - both available for under £30. They sit at separate ends of the taste spectrum - one sweet and the other smoky. It will answer the question as to what your taste buds will like and from there you can exclude a large proportion in the future
    Author
    Thanks I'll take a look at the ones you have mentioned. It's been diffrent the last week drinking the one above I hardly drink spirits but has been nice to have some in the evenings and chilling while drinking this.
    Depends on YOUR taste.... I hate smokey/peat drinks myself, so my faves are Glenmorangie and Penderyn medera - very similar sweet edge to both.
    Rather than drop a load on stuff you won't enjoy, find a whiskey shop that will guide you through a few samples , then buy a bottle you'll enjoy - yes you would save money at the supermarket ,but it's money well spent as you'll discover your preferences.... then you'll know what to target in the future.
    Don't limit yourself to Scottish though... Ireland, Wales and Japan make some cracking stuff, as do other places no doubt.