Would I be able to ditch my e-bike on this commute

Found 25th Apr
I commute 6.5 miles each way 5 days a week, there is a about 2 short not too bad hills and 1 longer tough hill, on the way and just one tough hill on the way home (different route) the E-bike cuts out at 15mph and to be honest I don't put in any effort to get it higher seems like the bike is too heavy? or I'm unfit ... I'm 22 and 11.6 stone,

Google maps says it takes 40 minutes, Indo it in 30-35 minutes, is keeping up to 15mph on a road bike something that takes lot of training?
Community Updates
AskBikeElectric Bike
11 Comments
If your fitness level is generally ok, 15mph should be easily achievable. The hills are obviously a different story.
I'm not an expert in this field but I have worked with many cyclists. If you are going to be cycling a fair distance to work with a challenging cilmb, are there showering facilities at work when you get there? Where I worked there were, but if you were to set off on a hot summer day, would you want to get to work and have to work all day sweaty and claggy? Have you a friend you could borrow a bike off and have a practice on at the weekend? When I was your age (and I admit that was many thousands of years ago) I cycled everywhere and that speed seems possible. Go for it
You might struggle for a few days, but once you get into the swing of pedalling properly it'll be fine and you'll feel a lot better for it. 15 mph on a road bike is easy, and you'll really notice the difference when the bike is 1/3rd the weight.

Like PsychoBitch says, make sure you've got showers at work as it's no fun being sweaty.

Also, does your workplace do the Cycle to Work scheme as you can pick up a bike through that and save a fair bit of money
psychobitchfromhell16 h, 13 m ago