10 Comments

Banned

its just you.

text only for the whole site is the only option I have seen

I usually use the text setting however if I use the search functions or filter functions it sometimes reverts to full display when it displays the results but if I go back to normal browsing then it reverts back to Text display...... so even if you do have it set to text it can sometimes do a full display
Edited by: "gari189" 24th Feb 2011

Banned

I use text only. It's sitewide, and always has been I believe.

and like gari has said, this setting will randomly reset itself. It's another bug under the heading "probably should fix but devs can't be arsed".
Edited by: "vibeone" 24th Feb 2011

Original Poster

OK thanks all.

Could have sworn I had it set that way, but I'm obviously wrong.

Maybe I was thinking way back when HUKD had a complete revamp back in the days when I used to be here alot!!

vibeone

I use text only. It's sitewide, and always has been I believe.and like … I use text only. It's sitewide, and always has been I believe.and like gari has said, this setting will randomly reset itself. It's another bug under the heading "probably should fix but devs can't be arsed".



You're right, it is text only site wide. In terms of it resetting itself, the option is stored in a cookie, so if you clear your cookies, your options will be reset. Other information is stored in cookies as well, like information related to what threads you have viewed (which is how we mark things read/unread). We are working on making these settings more persistent though so even if you clear your cookies they can still be associated with your account.

Banned

Developer

You're right, it is text only site wide. In terms of it resetting … You're right, it is text only site wide. In terms of it resetting itself, the option is stored in a cookie, so if you clear your cookies, your options will be reset. Other information is stored in cookies as well, like information related to what threads you have viewed (which is how we mark things read/unread). We are working on making these settings more persistent though so even if you clear your cookies they can still be associated with your account.



I think you need to look at your cookie expiries then. Without touching cookies, without using different browsers - without even logging out, that setting resets itself. Other people have also mentioned the mark as read feature doing random things. Connected?

Developer

You're right, it is text only site wide. In terms of it resetting … You're right, it is text only site wide. In terms of it resetting itself, the option is stored in a cookie, so if you clear your cookies, your options will be reset. Other information is stored in cookies as well, like information related to what threads you have viewed (which is how we mark things read/unread). We are working on making these settings more persistent though so even if you clear your cookies they can still be associated with your account.



not true.

I can post in a thread have a look around the site, the thread I posted in is marked as read then I'll do some more looking come back into the same section as the thread and it's now mysteriously now marked as unread even though I'm still the last poster and the cookies havn't been touched.

The random switching from text view to full does also happen without cookies being deleted.

I will double check the expire times for those cookies to make sure they are being set for an appropriate amount of time.

For the read/unread, there are a couple extra rules in there that you might be noticing. One of them being there is a maximum amount of viewed threads that are stored, so if you are a really heavy user of the site, and view a lot of threads, you might start to lose some of that stored data on what you've viewed. Again thats one of the limitations of storing that kind of information in cookies.

Banned

Developer

I will double check the expire times for those cookies to make sure they … I will double check the expire times for those cookies to make sure they are being set for an appropriate amount of time.For the read/unread, there are a couple extra rules in there that you might be noticing. One of them being there is a maximum amount of viewed threads that are stored, so if you are a really heavy user of the site, and view a lot of threads, you might start to lose some of that stored data on what you've viewed. Again thats one of the limitations of storing that kind of information in cookies.



vBulletin can do it.... or do they store it in the user account?

Not trying to be an **** (for a change) but just trying to work out why its a problem now, but seemingly not before.

vibeone

vBulletin can do it.... or do they store it in the user account?Not … vBulletin can do it.... or do they store it in the user account?Not trying to be an **** (for a change) but just trying to work out why its a problem now, but seemingly not before.



Most of the code regarding the options has been custom for a while, even before we did the last big upgrade to get rid of the rest of vbulletin. I will also double check the options for the read/unread cookie to see if in the short term we can't bump up the number of stored threads in there so things don't get marked as unread.
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text