Posted 15 December 2015

Does anybody own a Ford Fiesta 1.4 semi-auto? Looking for recommendations

Hi all,

I am considering getting a Ford Fiesta, the 1.4lt which has a semi-automatic gearbox. I will mainly be doing driving throughout and around London hence the reason to go for an automatic.

Has anybody ever owned this car or have one currently? I have no experience of the semi-automatic gearbox, so looking for peoples opinions on this if they have owned one in the past.

Thanks!
Community Updates
New Comment

9 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    I had a fiesta 1.4 semi auto, it was great. No clutch you could drive it like a full auto and just leave it to do its thing or change gear yourself like a manual. I liked it until the gearbox needed replacing....
    I have a manual, so can't speak for that (which is probably what you really want to know :p) but the car itself is very reliable I've found so far. Ford are generally quite cheap to repair should anything go wrong anyway.
    Looking it up it appears the only combination of 1.4L engine and automatic available on a recent fiesta is the 1.4L Petrol Duratech Engine with the Durashift automated manual gearbox which were available between ~2002 and ~2012 on two different models of Fiesta.

I haven't tried that gearbox, but generally speaking automated manuals aren't known for their smoothness so if that's your reason for buying then it may not be the ideal choice unless you plan to change gear manually and just want the clutch pedal removed.
    Author
    EndlessWaves