Is this bad blockwork on extension

Posted 29th Aug 2021
Hi

I went round to neighbours house the other day who is having an extension done and looked at their blockwork. I am no expert but it looked off to me.

He is a fairly old gentleman and I didn’t wanna say anything but just asked him about it and he said it’s being rendered so it doesn’t really matter

Any thoughts on this? Pic attached. The build is well advanced so I doubt he would want it pulling down.

3785778-ag6AQ.jpg
Community Updates
New Comment

20 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    Why don’t you ask the builders next time they are round - I’m sure they’ll be pleased to explain

45490427-bpOoG.jpg (edited)
    think its fairly obvious very untidy workmanship
    however more thinking what would i think of my neighbour popping in criticising my blockwork, taking pic then putting pic online to gauge opinion / slate work ....I am sure you mean well - unless you think neighbour being fleeced by workmen and then would contact police or trading standards etc but would imagine neighbour would have to be aware of your concerns
    Blockwork thats going to be rendered or clad (which this obviously is) doesn't need to look pretty, I've seen a lot worse than this.
    I don't see anything wrong with it structurally, all the mortar courses are full, there's no gaps anywhere and he's maintained the half bond as best he can considering it appears to be a very short wall (is that part of a door frame I can see top left?) and I believe I can see the DPC on the corner bottom right.
    Untidy blockwork isn't necessarily any weaker or less moisture resistant.
    ccnp29/08/2021 09:05