Laying underlay and carpet - advice please

Posted 6th Aug 2016
My son's bedroom has wooden floorboards laid down on it - some of which are quite gappy. Somebody has given me some underlay (8 mm foam), however, I have never used underlay before. I've looked it up on google, and it says to staple the underlay to the floorboards and to put down gripper carpet rods (never used those before either). My son's bedroom is very small (around 6 m2) and I was going to put down the carpet myself.

I do not actually own a staple gun and don't want the extra expense of buying one - can you use some type of staple/nail that can be hammered in instead? Also, I looked at gripper rods - which it says to nail to the floor, but I do not have a carpet stretcher and was wondering how you push the carpet on top of the gripper rods - seeing there are spikes sticking up on them? Any advice would be most appreciated. Thank you.
Community Updates
New Comment

Categories

25 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    Selling staple guns for £4.99 complete with staples in lids this week
    You'll need a staple gun, carpet stretcher, stanley knife, hammer and a carpet tucker. If it's just for one room I'd be tempted to get a price for someone to fit it for you.
    If you buy carpet, it often comes with free fitting. I know they include this in the price really.
    Author
    mutley1

If you buy carpet, it often comes with free fitting. I know they include … If you buy carpet, it often comes with free fitting. I know they include this in the price really.

They would not do it, as the room is very small - only around 6 m2 (in an L-shape too, due to the built-in boxed staircase behind the bedroom door - free fitting for this company is for rooms larger than 12 m2.
    Just use adhesive, it's saves a lot of time. I'm putting down new underlay for entire house and I've just used adhesive. It's £4 a bottle from SCREWFIX
    Sophiasky