Removing Integrated fridge freezer

Posted 20th Oct 2017
My mum and dads fridge freezer has stopped working.

I want to check if the fuse has gone but the plug is behind the fridge freezer housing.

The only way i can get to it is by removing the fridge freezer.

I have never done this before and am worried i might not be able to put back in correctly.

There are screws fixing the fridge freezer and doors in place. Is it a matter of unscrewing these and taking fridge freezer out? Then putting back in?

Apreciate any advice/guidance. Thanks.
Community Updates
New Comment

4 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    ran123ran16 m ago

Problem sorted - my dad had inadvertantly turned off the switch that …Problem sorted - my dad had inadvertantly turned off the switch that controls power to the socket where fridge is plugged in. So glad it was something as silly as that.

OMG - surely that was the most obvious thing to check first
    Before you start are you sure the plug socket is behind the fridge/freezer - worth checking that it is not to the side of the freezer at a low level that you can get to by removing the kick plate on the kitchen units.

If it is not accessible, have a watch of this video to give you an idea of what is likely involved - your task should be a little simpler as you won't have to do all the measuring/precise fitting. Start at about 6 mins or so in. Shows you likely seals etc you will habe that you will have to try and not damage when removing/refitting.

Keep the unit upright when you take it out - don't lay it down as if you do you will need to let the refrigerant settle for a few hours before switching on again (if you can get it going).