Golf beginner advice

Posted 4th Jun 2023
Thinking of taking up golf as my knees seem to be calling it a day.

Any friendly advice for a complete novice?

What golf club brands are best etc.

Thanks
Community Updates
New Comment

16 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    I'd be tempted to just get a cheap set off ebay or marketplace. Just to get used to playing. It's a great sport if you have a couple of mates you can go with imo. It would be worth getting 1 or 2 lessons to show you how to swing properly too if you find that you do like it. (edited)
    Go to a driving range that has a shop attached and a resident professional there and have some lessons. It wont be quick and it wont be easy. Took me years to perfect my swing etc and still experiment with different techniques 20 years on. You can then use the clubs there and find what suits your stature and ability.
    Costco have a cheap McGregor starter full set for less than £299 . Or gumtree , Facebook marketplace for cheap second hand set .
    I have played golf for 30 years . I am still rubbish lol , but I am a April to September player and maybe only 2 - 3 times a month .
    My average steps for a round is 17,000 steps so great exercise.
    Your steps would probably be far less if you could hit the ball straight and not spend 15 minutes wandering around the rough trying to find it!!!
    As someone who only started a few years ago I would say the first thing is to find a driving range and get a couple of lessons so you can learn the basics. As far as clubs go there are a lot of good second hand clubs for sale but just to get you started. The last thing I would say is if you are tall look out for sets that have had longer shafts fitted, I am 6’4” and after struggling a bit with standard clubs I had a ‘fitting’ and got a set with longer shafts.