Help buying Power Drill

Posted 2nd Jul 2023
Complete beginner to power tools. Looking to buy something basic that can screw, unscrew, drill holes. Would like cordless and something below £50 with battery. Not sure what to look for as seen combi drills, hammer drills, impact drills.
Any help is much appreciated
Community Updates
New Comment

23 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    Good luck.

Best thing you can do for all around usage is an 18V Combi. But then they are big & cannot be used in tighter scenarios.

Even better than that is an SDS which will drill through concrete & brick far more easily but again they are big.

Then you go down the pile of drills that will not go easily through brick & concrete but will help in tighter spaces & normal wood work etc.

If money wasn't an object most people would buy an 18v combi or an sds plus a 18/15/12v drill driver.

If you cannot afford both then aim for an 18v Combi. But your £50 will not go far. You really need another £20-£40 on top of your £50.
    Tools are like drugs..... You can't just have the one
    Aldi and Lidl tools offer excellent value, and you can use one battery between tools (although it's handy to have more than one battery)
    Get a bog standard drill to start ...it will drill most materials, and offer screwdriving.
    Once the bug bites , I'd get an impact screwdriver.... They are in another league for difficult screws and bolts that a drill will just strip the head, or snap the screw.
    If you do a lot of brick or masonry drilling, an SDS makes holes like warm butter !

As I say, it's a slippery slope ! (edited)
    I was thinking this one. I wouldn't buy it because I would be spending another £40. But for £50 & just random use around the house it is probably best suited to you and your budget.