Cheapest driving lesson

Posted 19th Feb 2023
How do I get cheapest driving lesson? Near Wembley London. So far all more than £25
Community Updates
Ask
New Comment

23 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    PaulandPam
    Pay peanuts and you'll only get a monkey to teach you.
    I was a driving instructor for 30 years and believe me the cheap instructors are the chimps that can't keep pupils.
    Also avoid the big school names like BSM who are just overpriced companies with maybe a few decent instructors on their books it's better to choose an instructor by recommendation and experience than price. (edited)
    Mark_Hickman
    Considering driving lessons were £20-25 in 2005 when i passed, i think you're getting a good deal, my daughter paid 30 until recently when she passed and her griends are all paying 30-35 so i think 25 will be possibly a not so good instructor whos desperate (edited)
    Uridium
    Sounds about right to me.

Most driving schools will offer a discount if you block book. 5 for £100 etc
    Mendoza
    £25 back in the 90’s
    cis_groupie
    I paid £3.00 per lesson back in the 70s - I had a Saturday job to pay for it. Prices have obviously gone up a little bit since then..
    Change_Me
    just checked and surprised how expensive driving lessons are in london now back when i finished high school was like £15-18 an hour back in 2008-2010 same company charging £35/38 an hour (edited)
    slimy31
    I had one that would use part of the lesson to drop off the previous person and pick up the next one. For a one hour lesson it meant that at least half of it was a taxi service, and only half was actual private lesson. It quickly became apparent why he could only charge half the price of everyone else, when he didn't have to use his own time between students.

My next instructor was about double the price but I actually had a full hour of lesson.