Road bike cycling... Saddle

Posted 7th Apr 2023
Hi last month I asked which giant bike i should get, defy or tcr...

I ended up getting a defy 2017 carbon model.

Done a 16 miler and my back side was sore... Even though I was wearing btwin padded cycling shorts.

Looking for recommendations on saddles please.

I cycle about once a week, may push to 3 times a week during summer, average miles per session 25 to 30 miles.

Would like to upgrade my seat, have seen fizik gel type seats On my fellow riders bikes, but can't seem to get them second hand...

Any suggestions please?

Much appreciated.
Community Updates
New Comment

18 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    This is a tricky one to answer as there is no one answer because different saddles will suit different people. How much cycling have you done up to this point?
    Author
    I've been cycling for the past 3 years, long distance. I.e. More than 120 minute sessions with odd breaks in between.

On the hybrid im ok with a poundstretcher seat cushion add on coupled with padded cycling shorts.

I also have the btwin memory foam add on (7 quid I think) which I haven't tried out on the defy yet. It does make a difference.

Wanted a proper saddle at a decent price for someone who cycles as much as I do... But without breaking the bank.
    [deleted]

do we need a chatbot as well ?
    Don’t skimp on the cycling shorts. There is a big difference in conform between cheap and expensive.
    Cannot remember buying a bike where the saddle was fit for anything but the granite of bottom
    (and I have bought a lot over many years some may have forgotten)

It is a very personal thing we all have our own specs
    try out several see what you like Amazon ?

also make sure the bike is set up for you
    Author
    I've got saddle height right, locked legs etc.

What is granite of bottom?
    As others have said, check your saddle width, youtube.com/wat…4Mk.